For The Week Of Dec. 4th

Welcome back fam :)

📈 2 Steps To 3X Your Marketing Email’s Open Rate

The more people that open your email, the better results your campaigns will have . Well, Inbox Mailers uses some cutting-edge tech to help you 3X your open rate It works like this:

Step 1: Inbox Mailers identifies when your subscribers are active in their inbox.

Step 2: Inbox Mailers triggers your ESP to send an email while they’re checking it.

That's it! It boosts your reputation, deliverability, sender scores, and IP health, your coveted open rates, and most importantly… sales!

And the best part? They’re giving out a FREE ebook to my subscribers. This guide explains how they increased their open rates by 300% and how you can do the same thing for your business.

🛠 4 Questions For You

  1. Want to know the highest-performing content team’s best-kept secret? Data-driven insights, keywords, and more from Positional's Optimize toolset. Join their private beta for discounted pricing and unlimited access here →

  2. Looking for UGC ads without an agency? Sleepless is the answer! Boost your performance creatives with their expert video editors, animators, and designers. Trusted by brands like DoorDash and more. Get started with Sleepless here →

  3. Want to get more legs out of your content? Revive your old whitepapers and docs into stunning videos to get an increase of 5-7x engagement with Spacebar. Get 20% off your content here →

  4. Want to master customer acquisition strategy? Stay ahead with frameworks and expert advice on driving acquisition while keeping CAC low and maximizing ROAS in this playbook launched by Amplitude here →

(*all things above are sponsored ads, get yours here)

🚀 This Week's Growth Hack: Tap Into A “Digitally Exhausted” Audience

I recently read a study that 98% of marketers across 45 states said they have invested in digital advertising this year, ok duh… but, 67% are now reporting declining results. Between rising costs per clicks, audience exhaustion with advertising overload, increased use of ad blockers and privacy protections, and other factors, many brands in the survey believe performance from digital channels has peaked.

So I immediately asked myself, what other channels can us marketers use to reach these “digitally exhausted” audiences outside of the things I talk about all the time in this newsletter?

Well, my quick digging led me to this new thing from OneScreen.ai called “Out Of Home 2.0” and the stats are pretty wild…

I’ve always dismissed “OOH” ads for the same reason everyone else does:

❌ OOH campaigns often need significant budgets to make an impact, with recommended minimums ranging from $50k to $100k

❌ They are insanely difficult to track actual attribution (table stakes for us modern digital marketers)... 

❌ I want direct response marketing and OOH seems to be more for “brand building”

Then I learned about “OOH 2.0” which solves lots of those challenges:

✅ You can make a meaningful dent with just a $10k starting budget

✅ I thought OOH wasn’t measurable but boy was I wrong. You can now use simple tools like Google Analytics to measure real-world impact on site traffic, conversion rates, and local purchase behavior (this blew my mind)

✅ New data from Google backs up the concept of “micro-moments” aka people frequently grabbing their phones to satisfy immediate needs to know, go, do, or buy something they just saw… with OOH being one of the best ways to trigger that micro-moment

As I understand it, OOH 2.0 is all about taking a measurement-first approach to OOH, which is really refreshing as a digital marketer! That combined with hyper-precision audience targeting and media selection, it seems to be one of the most viable channels to reach that “digitally exhausted” audience. 

Proof

Luxury bed & bath linen brand Cozy Earth ran a small OOH 2.0 test and the results really backed up that “micro-moments” thing I mentioned earlier… Running hyper-precision audience-targeted digital billboards in and around the most affluent parts of Salt Lake City Utah lead to:

  • A 38% increase in direct traffic

  • A 35% increase in overall search traffic

  • A whopping 75% increase in branded search traffic

… all compared to all other cities during that time period. 

Max’s Famous Examples

E-Comm - A sportswear brand can place QR-coded park bench ads in fitness-centric areas motivating passersby to scan for exclusive discounts and seamlessly transition their interest walking out of the gym or running in the park, to your online store.

SaaS - If there’s a big sales conference happening in Seattle you could buy billboards encouraging people to stop by “booth 732 to get a free xyz” … Not all that different from the drive out to Coachella every year being filled with billboards promoting specific sets from artists… OOH 1.0 would use the billboard to simply promote a brand with an evergreen tagline, saying “you could save 15% or more on your car insurance by switching to Geico” whereas OOH 2.0 encourages you to take a specific action like “Show up to this booth at this conference or this showtime”.

Small Biz - Wrap buses in your city with ads to promote your escape room’s new murder mystery game then use contextual billboards near transit hubs to inspire a specific Google search query and use Google Ads / SEO to meet the audience digitally in that last step to fulfill their need.

In Summary

As it turns out, OOH 2.0 might just be the best way to reach those “digitally exhausted” audiences! And… brands are actually finding attributable success with OOH! But the ones that are, are leveraging new tools, targeting, and strategies that are new to the industry. I learned about it from OneScreen.ai so if you are interested, definitely check them out.

💕 Whenever You Are Ready

Here are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. My Secret To Growing On Twitter - Ghostwriters suck. They never write in your voice and sell the same viral threads to all of their clients. That’s why I trust my friends at Vivaldi who simply interview me for 90 minutes every 30 days and turn my answers into 70+ high-engaging tweets for $1k/mo. Get started with their money-back guarantee here!

  2. Get In Front Of My Audience - With more than 85,000+ newsletter subscribers, 75k+ Tik Tok followers, & 37k+ Twitter followers, my team & I work with dozens of partners in unique ways to help them grow here.

  3. Hire Me As A Fractional CMO - I typically work with 3 or 4 companies at a time on all things from ads management to growth hacking! One of my current clients just outgrew me with a full-time CMO after a nice capital raise on the back of our work together so I’m now looking for one more client. Let’s find out if that’s you, here!


That's it for this week!

Talk soon,
Marketing Max
Find me on Twitter
Find me on Tik Tok
Find me on Instagram

Thanks for being a part of my journey :)

Wanna partner with me? If you are interested in reaching my audience, click here :)