For The Week Of Nov. 6th

Read Time: 4 minutes

šŸ¤Æ 40% Ad Recall?!

In a world where ad blockers and ad avoiders are on the rise, reaching your target audience is no easy feat.

Brave has your back - the world's first global ad platform designed for privacy. They are the only private-by-design ad platform, and also have industry-leading engagement across all ad formats.

Donā€™t believe me? Hereā€™s the Marketing Max proof:
ā€¢ eToro witnessed a 13.8% click-through rate (CTR)
ā€¢ Culprit achieved 500% increase in sales in 30 days

Don't just advertise, expand your reach with privacy-respecting campaigns on Brave.

šŸ‘‰šŸ¼ The best part? You get DOUBLE the value on your first campaign when you mention Growth Hacks!

āž”ļø Get started here

šŸ›  3 Things Worth Checking Out

1ļøāƒ£ - Reviving your old whitepapers and docs into stunning videos is an underrated Growth Hack. Spacebar can help & often times increase engagement by 5-7x. Get a FREE video from your content here

2ļøāƒ£ - High-converting design concepts your customers love are a few clicks away with Treat AI! Get on-brand ads and lifestyle photos for more effective customer acquisition here.

3ļøāƒ£ - Blend influencer growth, creative excellence, and media buying expertise with Kynshipā€™s all-in-one powerhouse. Get 1000 influencer assets in 90 days here

šŸŒŸ Bonus - Iā€™m hosting an event for agency owners this Thursday AM titled ā€œHow To Grow An Agency With a Newsletterā€ which you can RSVP to here

*(everything above is a via partnership, click here to get yours)

šŸš€ This Weekā€™s Growth Hack: Growth Hacking My 7-Figure Biz

Not only was I recently interviewed on a podcast about how I grew my 7-figure agency but I spoke at a conference last week about the exact inflection points that caused my ad agencyā€™s major growth spurts before I sold it 2 years ago.

At the end of that keynote, I realized I had never shared all of them together with you guys so here they are, in sequential order! Each Growth Hack below is something any marketer or entrepreneur can use or draw inspiration from and apply to their efforts! Everyone is chasing that ā€œsilver bulletā€ but looking back on a 5-year journey from my first $250/mo client to hitting 7-figures in ARR, then exiting, there were a few ā€œsilver bulletsā€ ā€¦ so letā€™s dive in:

  1. šŸ’° Flat Fee Pricing - A few months after we started tracking our whole teamā€™s hours (basically how many hours we spent on each client), we sat down in conference room B at our co-working space to analyze the data. The first thing we noticed in the data lead to our very first Growth Hack! We noticed the clients paying us $5k/mo were taking up the same amount of hours to service as the clients spending $2.5k/mo.


    You see at the time we were charging based on ad spend we were managing. If a client was spending $50k/mo on ads, we would would charge around $5k to manage that spend. If they spent under $10k, we would charge around $2.5k to manage that spend. But since everyone was basically taking the same amount of time to service, regardless of what they paid us, we introduced


    ā€œThe Flat Monthly Feeā€

    šŸ‘‰šŸ¼ Result: This immediately 2Xā€™d our close rate because brands love knowing that 1. we wouldnā€™t prioritize any clients spending more than them since everyone was paying the same rate 2. their cost wouldnā€™t go up as their ad spend went, we were a fixed line item on the P&L

  2. šŸ„• The Carrot - We noticed a few months later that a lot of our potential clients were asking what our average return on ad spend was in our sales calls. So we booked some time in conference room C (fun fact, I met my wife for the first time in that conference room) to write out on the whiteboard every single client we had, and what their trailing 90-day ROAS was. 

    Turned out, we averaged a 4.2X across the board for all clients. So I immediately asked the team whatā€™s out tagline?

    Because we were so obsessed with making all of our clients copy as close to fourth-grade reading level as possible, we came up with the tagline:

    ā€œWe help companies make $4 for every $1 they spend on digital adsā€

    šŸ‘‰šŸ¼ Results: the moment we put that tagline as the hero message on our website homepage, the leads started flowing in way more than before! And mentioning it in our deck, our conversion rate in sales calls shot up as well. We were no longer just another agency with great case studies, we were the agency that turned $1 into $4.

    (BTW - if youā€™re an agency owner & want guaranteed leads at a fixed Cost Per Lead, book a call to learn more about my new project here)

  3. šŸ—” Conquesting - About a year later we were really struggling to generate enough clients to get us to the next level so we had a brainstorming session where I asked the team if we were our own client, what campaign would we run for ourselves?

    The answer appeared about 30 seconds later when everyone brought up the #1 lead gen tactic that was working for all of our clientsā€¦ bidding on their competitorsā€™ names!

    That meeting lasted all of two minutes, because I am mediately fired up my laptop, created a brand new Google Ads account, and started bidding on our direct competitorsā€™ brand names with the copy

    ā€œ(Insert competitor name) = expensive | Hellā€™s Creative = 4X ROIā€

    šŸ‘‰šŸ¼ Results: I had seven leads within 24 hours after spending about $50 maybe even less, I canā€™t remember, but it was overwhelmingly amazing. 

  4. šŸš« This Not An Ad - That last growth hack only worked so long, because other agencies caught onto my strategy and jacked up the cost to appear when people googled these other agencies. At that time I had started to see a handful of agencies running Facebook ads. The problem was they all look the same and I didnā€™t want to be just another agency running Facebook ads.

    Well, after a few months, I was driving and saw a billboard that said your ad here. My immediate thought was, how come I have never seen Facebook running an ad saying your ad here. Then I realizedā€¦ This is how I stand out! I flipped the entire concept of an ad in the Facebook ( & Instagram) feed on its head by running an ad where the creative was something I made in Canva in 2 seconds that had a white background and said ā€œthis is not an adā€ big in lack centered. 

    The body copy started off by saying ā€œthis is not an ad, but a story about an e-commerce founder who thought they were killing it but secretly wasnā€™tā€¦ā€

    Then I went on to tell a whole story in the body copy with multiple paragraphs about how a fictional e-commerce CEO was getting tricked by their agencyā€™s reporting. 

    šŸ‘‰šŸ¼ Results: This ad single-handedly delivered 50 qualified calls on my calendar a month for under $100 per qualified appointment, which skyrocketed our growth and doubled our revenue in 3 months

Which one are you going to use or draw inspo from??

Donā€™t love those? Want an even better ageny Growth Hack? Iā€™m building the agency lead gen resource I wish I had before I sold. Learn more here

What did you think of this week's Growth Hack?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

šŸ’• Whenever You Are Ready šŸ’•

Here are 3 ways I can help you:ā€‹

  1. Listen To My New Podcast - My podcast takes you behind the scenes of some of the fastest-growing startups in the game today! Check out all episodes & subscribe here

  2. Access 70+ Growth Hacks - I have been sending out one epic Growth Hack every single Sunday since launching this newsletter in March of 2022. But, if you subscribed recently, you missed the last 70+ Growth Hacks! I put them all inside Growth Hacks University alongside my flagship course Growth Marketing 101 and a bunch of other growth marketing resources! Start your 5-day free trial here!

    ā€‹

  3. Get In Front Of My Audience - With more than 85,000+ newsletter subscribers, 75k+ Tik Tok followers, & 40k+ Twitter followers, my team & I work with dozens of partners in unique ways to help them grow! Interested in a partnership, tap here.

Thatā€™s it for this week!

Talk soon,
Marketing Max
ā€‹Find me on Twitterā€‹
ā€‹Find me on Tik Tokā€‹
ā€‹Find me on Instagramā€‹

Thanks for being a part of my journey :)

*Wanna get your product or service in front of my audience, start here